Association of Open University Graduates

The Evolution of AOUG

1986 Steering Group

The first meeting was held on Friday 14th March 1986 in the Open University's London Regional Centre. One OU graduate from each of the thirteen OU regions was present along with two Open University representatives.

OU Graduates
01 Kate Brown  - London
02 Christina Lay - South
03 Colin Brown  - South West
04 Robert Brown - West Midlands - (Chosen as Steering Group Vice-Chairman)
05 Rosemary Blunden - East Midlands
06 Mary Shepherd - East Anglia
07 Ronnie Noakes - Yorkshire
08 Olga Camm - North West - (Chosen as Steering Group Chairman)
09 Margaret Smart - North      
10 Sally Jay - Wales
11 Tony Melles - Scotland
12 Frances Cowan - Northern Ireland
13 Bob Breeze  - South East

Open University
Peter Price (Clerk to the Council)
Roger Walters (Assistant Secretary, Council Division)

Working Groups formed to discuss:

  • Subscription, membership, recruitment
  • Officers, staff, structure, title, Constitution, objectives
  • Publicity, communications, activities, conference, Involvement of OU Regional Offices

This page will be updated soon.